Marriage Records

Persons married in Rhode Island may obtain a marriage certificate at Rhode Island State Vital Records, in the town or city in which they were married, or, where they applied for their marriage license. One may apply in person, at which time he or she will be required to complete a state mandated form and present an official picture ID (such as a driver's license or military ID).

Making a Request by Mail
A marriage certificate may be requested by mail. Information to include are both individuals' names, date of the marriage, and where the marriage occurred. A photocopy of either individual's picture ID (such as a driver's license or military ID) must be included with the request. For ease of use, access the marriage certificate request form.

Fees & Payments

A money order, payable to the Town of Portsmouth, must also be included. The fee is $20 for the first, and $15 for each additional certificate requested. A self-addressed, stamped envelope should also be included for a speedy response. A contact name and telephone number is suggested in the event additional information is needed or questions arise. Every attempt is made to respond within 24 to 48 hours of receipt. Requests should be mailed to:
Town Clerk's Office
2200 East Main Road
Portsmouth, RI 02871

State Law
Pursuant to Rhode Island State Law, one may only obtain a marriage certificate for oneself, one's parent, one's children, brother, sister, grandchild or grandparent. One must be able to prove relationship if the last names are different. A social worker or attorney may also obtain a marriage certificate for his / her client.

Who Can Perform Marriages
Please note that town clerks in Rhode Island cannot perform marriages. Couples must make arrangements with a person in Rhode Island who, by Rhode Island State Law, qualifies to join couples in marriage in a religious or civil ceremony. (Ordained clergy and elders in good standing need not be Rhode Island residents, nor are they required to register in order to unite couples in marriage.) Judges of any Rhode Island court may perform civil ceremonies.

In addition to the officiant, two witnesses who have reached the legal age of 18 years must be present at the marriage.